Press Information 11.09

Press Information 11.09

15/09/2014 09:45:03
The winner in the Moto category in the international Off - road race "Balkan Marathon Rally" is Christian Pastori from Italy. Pastori win the grand prize - free participation in Africa Eco Race. The rally start in this December and for two weeks the caravan passes through the original route of the "Dakar". The Grand Prize is provided by the organizer of the "Balkan Marathon Rally" Todor Hristov, representative of the Africa Eco Race for the Balkan countries.

The fifth edition of "Balkan Marathon Rally" started from the square of the city of Samokov in Bulgaria and finished in the town of Ohrid in Macedonia. The awards were presented at a special ceremony on the shore of the Lake Ohrid. The race was realized with the assistance of the Municipalities of Samokov and Ohrid and the help of Bulgarian and Macedonian off - road clubs, actively participating in the organization of the "Balkan Marathon Rally."

At the start in the different categories stood over 80 participants from Bulgaria, Greece, Belgium, Netherlands, Austria, Italy, Serbia and Macedonia who passed more than 2000 km for 7 days. In the race was a the two-time Dakar winner Jean-Louis Schlesser who was at the start of the prologue with a prototype car Hyundai Santa Fe T1.

A lot of mud, rain, tough and attractive routes- much adrenaline and zeal were necessary for the competitors to stand on the podium of the best and most resistant. Such a race needs much more than well-prepared machine, training and motivation, it needs also adrenaline, courage and of course adventurous spirit.

Officials at the award ceremony of the winners in the "Balkan Marathon Rally" were Angel Yanev - Deputy Mayor of the town of Ohrid, Todor Hristov - Director of the “Balkan Marathon Rally”, the first Bulgarian participant in the Dakar Rally -who raised the Bulgarian and Macedonian flags at the start of the rally; involved in many other international competitions, official representative of rally "Africa Eco Race" for the Balkan countries and Velibor Kaevski - Deputy Director of "Balkan Marathon Rally."

Prizes in Class AUTO were bestowed by the Deputy Mayor of Ohrid Angel Yanev. The winner in this class is the Bulgarian crew Kalinkov / Boneva from the off - road club "Dobrudja", with a total time of 22:48:27 for the whole race or two and a half hours after the first moto rider in the overall standings. The second place is again for the Bulgarian team - Zahariev / Arabadjiev and the third place is for the Austrian team Ehemoser / Schiefer.
The classification in the other AUTO categories :

Jeeps Adventure:

1 Chuparkoski / Grcheski - Macedonia
2 Koteski / Spirkoski - Macedonia
3 Najdovski / Trajchevski - Macedonia

Category UTV / ATV:

1 Dimitrije Jovanovic - Macedonia
2 Kochevski / Trajchevski – Macedonia

In the most contending class Moto, the pressure was greatest in all these seven days, in a close battle for the grand prize, the awards bestowed the director of the rally - Todor Hristov .

Moto Overall category - final standings:

1 Christian Pastori - Italy
2 Dimitar Boevsky - Bulgaria
3 Hanno Van Bergeiyak - Netherlands

Moto - M1:
1 Dimitar Boevsky - Bulgaria
2 Henno Van Bergeijk - Netherlands
3 Paul Van Middelaar - Belgium
4 Eric Van Bergeijk - Netherlands
5 Eric Creemers - Netherlands

Moto - M2:
1 Christian Pastori - Italy
2 Martin Fontyn - Belgium
3 Frank Grootenboer - Netherlands
4 Michel Timp - Netherlands
5 Velibor Kaevski - Macedonia